Pathways

pathways_frame_300

My second attempt at slow stitch proved to be pure adventure.  The design is machine pieced and embellished with narrow strips of scrap ribbon and organza.  The PATHWAYS.

I decided to leave the edges raw with three layers of cotton and no batting.

Hand stitched with bright colors of embroidery floss.

Size: 12×15”

pathways_detail 2_600

The PATHWAYS  are vertical and horizontal placed in the center of the design.

Colorful bugle beads highlight certain pathways.  The title reflects my search….wishing I knew where to stitch next.  Slow stitching evolves…..slowly.  So, why not enjoy the exploration? On the one hand I want to know where the paths are leading….but, then again, that would spoil the adventure.

This is new for me and I know it will take time to learn to let go and not be concerned.

One thought on “Pathways

  1. I just love what you’re doing with the running stitch. I just finished a quilt where I hand quilted big circles as my quilting (used three strands of DMC embroidery floss). You take this to another level, and I love it. I am an art quilter (more of a wanna be art quilter), and have started a little group of friends that like to do the same. I will share your technique with them. Thanks. MaryAnn Huff

Leave a Reply

