Making Art For Friends

Making art for friends is wonderful.  Before I moved to Washington I had to say goodbye to a very close friend who I knew I would not see for a long time, if ever again.  I made a special hand stitched ZEN cloth for her.   Here is an image of it:

Both hand stitching and machine stitching are combined.  Beads are hand stitched as well.


This piece was made with a side panel and wrapped around a stretcher bar.  The backing and batting provided a padding against the hard edge of the wood.  The bars were sealed prior to prevent acid damage.

Needless to say, my friend loved this piece.

3 thoughts on “Making Art For Friends

  1. Hi Debbie, It’s a lovely piece filled with memories and symbolism. It’s difficult to leave good friends behind, isn’t it? I’ve done it a few times. I hope you are making some new friends but there’s nothing like the comfort of an old friend.

    ~ Madeline

Leave a Reply

