Indigo

After many many hours of hand stitching and VERY sore fingers…..I have finished the indigo piece.

INDIGO WHOLE CLOTH FULL VIEW

12X15″

INDIGO WHOLE CLOTH DETAIL

This was a very challenging piece because I didn’t like it until the last stages then I decided to add colors to the predominant white and cream color thread. I love indigo for the purity of color. I wanted to stay neutral and let the fabric and thread lead me. I was constantly thinking I should stop but I know that sometimes magic happens when you push through. I tried to decipher what was missing.  I varied the types of threads from pearl cotton fine to medium weight and then added embroidery floss. The indigo looks flat and absorbed the color of the thread. I struggled with which colors to add. I was very tempted to add red or orange and I could see that those colors would not contrast enough. The only colors I thought worked with the whites were golden yellow,turquoise, royal blue and green. Also, I discovered it is very unnatural for me to stitch freely, I constantly refer to previous stitches visually lining them up. I want to work on that tendency.

I LOVE THE TEXTURE THAT RESULTS FROM THE RHYTHM OF THE RUNNING STITCH.

Comments and observations are always welcome.

3 thoughts on “Indigo

  1. Deborah, I am especially drawn to your Indigo cloth. I loved reading of the process you went through in developing the colors and stitches in the finished piece. I lived in Japan and admired their use of indigo in many forms of traditional folk clothing and other textiles. Then I was in Turkey for years and was drawn to the natural dyes of old tribal pieces. Indigo, of course, is a basic dye along with madder. I’ve enjoyed looking closely at all of your wonderful pieces of textile art. I have always been drawn to textiles and Snowshoes brought me to yours!

Leave a Reply

