Hand Sewing-A Conversation

Hand sewing, stitches that gradually gather, gradually making associations, suggesting shapes, defining spaces.

Hand sewing with one or just a few colors on a solid fabric, light and dark; the simplicity is sublime.

I learn so much from reading blogs and following them. One is Christine Mauersberger-Textile Artist

Christine’s Insight and Advice

The act of hand sewing is very much a conversation with oneself. The way I work is to draw marks and designs in my sketchbook. My hand is following what’s going on in my head. Later, I’ll make decisions about which drawing makes me happy enough to want to stitch it on fabric. My focus is to make something beautiful and to please myself.

I encourage anyone seeking a professional art life to enroll in online creative webinars from places like Creative Commons or one-on-one co-active coaching from someone like Lisa Call

At the very least one could find a mentor who is willing to have a conversation with you every few months. I don’t look for critique as much as having someone help me make professional decisions. Lastly, I always follow my gut. 

Gallery-2009-2010

Red Land

Red Land

Mauersberger_Nelson

Crossroads Blue

Crossroads Blue

Crossroads 1

Crossroads 1

Orange Field-Blue Cross

Orange Field-Blue Cross

Mauersberger_Nelson

Redland 2

Redland 2

Visit Christine’s website to see more of her wonderful art.

Go forth and make something beautiful.

One thought on “Hand Sewing-A Conversation

Leave a Reply

